Florida Car Insurance: Affordable Coverage for Sunshine State Drivers
Car insurance is not an option for Florida drivers. The state requires all registered drivers to carry coverage, and for good reason. There is always a chance that you might experience a wreck, or other vehicle problem wherever you go. Therefore, having a policy in place might help you get critical help at times you need it most.
Rather than letting an unexpected, costly driving mishap threaten your security, instead let your insurance policy help you. O'Neal & Associates Insurance can help you get the best protection on the market.
Why Florida Drivers Need Coverage
Car insurance is not optional for a reason. It is a valuable way that drivers can protect themselves, their vehicle and other people when unexpected mishaps beckon. Rather than paying out of pocket for the costs arising from mishaps, let your insurance policy step in to cover you. It might prove a saving grace in helping you clean up messes while still protecting your own financial solvency.
But wait. Don’t assume you can just get any policy and it will be the right one for you. Instead, let one of O'Neal & Associates Insurance agents help you tailor coverage to your own benefit. The right policy will help you get covered at all times and in the most-affordable ways.
Minimum State Coverage Requirements
Florida requires all registered drivers to carry car insurance. However, it is one of the few no-fault states that do not penalize drivers for fault following accidents. That means your policy will pay regardless of who is at-fault in an accident. Florida drivers must carry:
- Personal injury protection (PIP coverage) valued at least at $10,000. Your PIP insurance will pay for many of your own personal losses and injuries.
- Property damage liability (PDL) insurance values at least at $10,000. Coverage will pay for a third party’s property losses, such as their vehicle damage, following a wreck.
Please note: the law also requires certain drivers (often those with a history of at-fault accidents) to carry other coverage. Requirements under this law are:
- Bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage: Protection will pay if you cause an accident that harms someone else. It can pay their medical bills or even certain funeral costs. It can also provide legal help if the affected party sues you. Qualifying drivers must carry at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist (UIM) coverage: Coverage pays you if another at-fault driver does not have liability coverage that will pay for your own losses. You can make a claim on your own policy for these losses instead. Limits must start at $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident.
Our Recommendations for Your Coverage
We don’t recommend you carry only Florida’s required PIP and PDL coverage. By investing in additional coverage, you can create a better level of protection within your policy.
- Most drivers should carry higher levels of PIP and PDL insurance. For example, you can often carry well over $100,000 of each type of coverage.
- Even if you don’t have a requirement, we recommend you still carry BIL and UIM coverage. Again, we recommend you carry more than the minimum requirements.
- You might want to add both collision and comprehensive damage insurance to the policy. This is optional coverage. However, it will help you pay for damage to your own car. Collision coverage will pay for wreck damage. Comprehensive coverage will pay for damage that doesn’t come from wrecks. Covered comprehensive damage might include fire, weather or theft losses.
- By expanding your policy, you might qualify for additional protection like rental car coverage, glass insurance or roadside assistance services.
Talk to one of our agents about the value of your vehicle, your driving history and your goals for obtaining coverage. They can help you determine the right type and amounts of protection.
We Insure Inexperienced, Senior and High-Risk Drivers
Sometimes, drivers face challenges getting coverage because insurers might label them high-risk drivers. You might obtain a high-risk designation for:
- Driving without a valid license. It is simple, unlicensed drivers should not drive, and you must keep your license active to maintain privileges.
- Driving without insurance. The law requires you to carry insurance for a reason. If you fail to do so you create a financial risk for yourself and others. That’s why you need coverage all the time.
- Committing multiple traffic offenses or causing wrecks. Such actions might signal that you have a higher risk of filing a claim in the future.
- At times, your age or experience might cause you to have higher driving risks than others. For example, the youngest drivers don’t have a lot of experience behind them. They might have a higher risk of filing a claim as a result.
Driving high-risk might cause a variety of penalties from insurers. Some might raise your insurance premiums. Others might cancel coverage altogether.
We fully understand that no one should struggle to afford insurance because of their risk designations. Therefore, we’ll help you get covered without having to pay exorbitant prices for your auto insurance.
Here When You Need Us
Learn more about home insurance options that help protect you and your family, request a quote for homeowners insurance or Contact O'Neal & Associates Insurance at 478-788-1104 or request an online quote right now!